The End of Magic by Mark Stay ~ Book Review!

1_1592316774

The End of Magic

Author: Mark Stay

Synopsis:

Two powerful mages. One steeped in privilege, the other bound by a moral code. Their world is thrown into chaos by the end of magic.

‘What will you do when the magic is gone? ’Sander Bree is a royal mage. He lives an easy life advising the king on matters of court and politics, yet he still complains that he’s stuck in a rut.Rosheen Katell is a wandering mage and, with Anzu her griffin, she’s worked hard to build a reputation as a trustworthy truth seer. She never lies, never kills. Very soon, their magic will be gone. A cataclysmic event will change their lives and world forever. Sander must keep a promise that would have been difficult enough with magic, but is a suicide mission without it. Rosheen is forced to side with a murderous warlord, and her once-solid principles are tested and found wanting. Both will be set against one another in a war unlike anything the world has seen before, in this sweeping fantasy of magic’s ending.

A stand alone fantasy novel for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch.

The Witch who thinks she’s a Warlock.

I always love it when I’m asked to participate in a blog tour or book review since authors helping authors is awesome! This time, I was approached to participate in the blog tour for Mark Stay’s book, The End of Magic, and it has been a fun time jumping into the world of mages and watching as their world explodes into chaos as magic disappears and leaves the characters in shambles as they fight to save their loved ones and the life of a young princess dying due to a power hungry war master.

When I first started reading The End of Magic I found it a little slow, which made it more difficult to instantly get hooked. Don’t get me wrong, it was still good but it took a chapter or two before I started to get hooked. One of the top things I enjoyed about Stay’s book was the differing POVs throughout. It helped drive the story and keep me turning the pages since something page flipping worthy would happen right as a chapter came to a close and the next chapter would pick up in someone else’s POV and drive the story from a different scene entirely.

The primary protagonist, Rosheen and her griffin Anzu, were arguably my favorite characters since their storyline caused me the most emotional connection and I reacted to the trials they went through more than any of the other characters.

If you’re looking for a good summer read to help get you through this quarantine, give Mark Stay’s The End of Magic a try!

Looking to purchase?

Amazon

stacked-books-1333742
About the author:
Mark 2

Mark Stay co-wrote the screenplay for Robot Overlords which became a movie with Sir Ben Kingsley and Gillian Anderson, and premiered at the 58th London Film Festival. Author of the fantasy novel The End of Magic, he is also co-presenter of the Bestseller Experiment podcast and worked in bookselling and publishing for over twenty-five years. He lives in Kent, England, with his family and a trio of retired chickens. He blogs and humblebrags over at markstaywrites.com

Looking to see what the other bloggers on this blog tour have said? Check them out below!

~

TEOFM Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: